William H. McFadden Gold Medalists

AFS awards the William H. McFadden Gold Medal for "outstanding achievements, contributions and service to the industry and the American Foundry Society."

To nominate someone for this award, click here.

Award Recipients

2023: Thomas J. Slavin, Slavin OSH Group LLC

2022: Thomas Prucha, International Journal of Metalcasting

2017: Sara A. Joyce, Badger Mining Corporation

2016: Douglas M. Trinowski, HA International

2012: Paul Cervellero, Induction Melting & Holding Systems

2011: John O. Serra, Carpenter Brothers, Inc.

2008: Thomas W. Stark, Badger Mining Corporation

2005: Dwight J. Barnhard, Superior Aluminum Castings, Inc.

2004: J. Michael Williams, Retired, General Motors Powertrain

2002: Paul L. Barker, Jr., Dalton Corporation

2000  John L. Kelly, Retired-CWC Castings Div.

1998: Dale P. Brautigam, LubeCon Systems, Inc.

1997: Jerry Agin, Retired

1994: Louis J. Pedicini, George Fischer Foundry Systems, Inc.

1993: William M. O'Neill, Alloy Engineering & Casting Co.

1987: Richard A. Green, AIMCOR

1984: Charles E. Fausel, Lester B. Knight & Associates, Inc.

1982: John O. Edwards, Consultant

1980: George J. Vingas, Ceramco, Inc.

1978: Jack Goudzwaard, Neenah Foundry Co.

1976: Bruce L. Simpson, National Engineering Co.

1974: Joseph S. Schumacher, International Minerals & Chemical Corp.

1972: Lester B. Knight, Lester B. Knight & Associates Inc.

1969: E.C. Troy, National Engineering Co.

1966: Richard W. Heine, University of Wisconsin

1962: Walter Bonsack, Aluminum & Magnesium, Inc.

1960: Sam F. Carter, Jr., American Cast Iron Pipe Co.

1958: Howard J. Rowe, Aluminum Co. of America

1956: James S. Vanick, International Nickel Co.

1954: Walter E. Sicha, Aluminum Co. of America

1953: William J. Grede, Grede Foundries, Inc.

1952: Henton Morrogh, British Cast Iron Research Association

1950: Dr. Richard Schneidewind, University of Michigan

1949: Gosta Vennerholm, Ford Motor Co.

1948: Egbert H. Ballard, General Electric Co.

1947: Harry M. St. John, Crane Co.

1946: Hyman Bornstein, Deere & Co.

1943: Carl F. Joseph, Central Foundry Div., General Motors Corp.

1941: Max Kuniansky, Lynchburg Foundry Co.

1940: Harry W. Dietert, Harry W. Dietert Co.

1939: Donald J. Campbell, Campbell, Wyant & Cannon Foundry Co.

1937: Charles W. Briggs, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

1932: Dr. H.W. Gillett, Battelle Memorial Institute

1928: Alexander E. Outerbridge, Jr., Wm. Sellers & Co.

1925: Dr. Robert Anderson

(Company affiliations shown at time of presentation)