Thomas W. Pangborn Gold Medalists

AFS presents this award for “outstanding contributions in education and sharing of knowledge within the industry.”


2018   John R. Keough, PE, Joyworks

2014   Eugene Muratore, retired, Rio Tinto Iron and Titanium America

2010   Dr. Sergio Gallo, retired, TEKSID, Italy

2009   Victor LaFay, S&B Industrial Minerals

2007   Hathibelagal Roshan, Maynard Steel Casting Company

2006   Wayne Rossbacher, Consultant

2003   Ezra Kotzin, American Foundry Society

2001   Karl Rundman, Michigan Technological University

1999   Paul Carey, Ashland Chemical

1997   Daryl Hoyt, Fairmount Minerals

1996   Norris B. Luther, Luther & Associates

1990   Hugh Sims, Vulcan Engineering

1988   George DiSylvestro, American Colloid

1986   John E. Miller, Consultant

1981   Arthur Avedesian, Taylor & Fenn Co.

1978   Paul K. Trojan, University of Michigan

1976   Howard Womochel, Michigan State University

1974   Ken Daniel, American Cast Iron Pipe Co.

1973   Sol Gertsman, Canada Department of Energy

1970   Prof. George Colligan, Dartmouth College

1968   Dr. Harold Ruf, Grede Foundries

1965   Thomas Barlow, International Minerals & Chemical Co.

1962   John Wallace, Case Institute of Technology

1960   W.W. Levi, Consultant

1958   Ralph Clark, Union Carbide & Carbon

1956   Charles C. Sigefoos, Michigan State University