John A. Penton Gold Medalists

AFS presents the John A. Penton Gold Medal for "outstanding technical, engineering or managerial contributions to the non-ferrous sector of the industry."

To nominate someone for this award, click here.

Award Recipients

2020: Dr. Kumar Sadayappan, CanmetMATERIALS

2018: Dr. David V. Neff

2015: David Weiss, Eck Industries, Inc.

2005: Raymond J. Donahue, Mercury Marine, Division of Brunswick Corporation

1994: Dr. Mahi Sahoo, CANMET

1985: Ralph A. Carlson, American Cast Iron Pipe Co.

1982: Alex L. Graham, Harry W. Dietert Co.

1980: John O'Meara, Banner Iron Works

1977: Thomas T. Lloyd, Hayes-Albion Corp.

1975: David Matter, Ohio Ferro-Alloys Corp.

1972: Carl R. Loper, Jr., University of Wisconsin

1967: Elmer C. Zirzow, Werner G. Smith, Inc.

1963: J.W. Meier, Dept. of Mines & Tech. Surveys

1961: William S. Pellini, U.S. Naval Research Labs.

1959: Fred J. Walls, Engineering Castings, Inc.

1957: Johannes C.A. Croning, Croning & Co.

1955: Robert F. Thomson, Research Labs., General Motors Corp.

1952: Frank G. Steinebach, Penton Publishing Co.

1951: Victor A. Crosby, Climax Molybdenum Co.

1948: R.G. McElwee, Vanadium Corp. of America

1947: Russell J. Allen, Worthington Corp.

1945: Clarence E. Sims, Battelle Memorial Institute

1943: Rufus F. Harrington, Hunt-Spiller Manufacturing Corp.

1942: John E. Galvin, Ohio Steel Foundry Co.

1941: Fred L. Wolf, Ohio Brass Co.

1940: Nathaniel K.B. Patch, Lumen Bearing Co.

1939: Harold S. Falk, Falk Corp.

1937: John W. Bolton, The Lunkenheimer Co.

1935: Lawrence L. Anthes, Anthes Foundry, Ltd.

1932: LaVerne W. Spring, Crane Co.

1930: Dr. Harry A. Schwartz, National Malleable & Steel Castings Co.

1926: John Shaw, Brightside Foundry Co.

1924: Enrique Touceda

(Company affiliations shown at time of presentation)