AFS Honors EHS Achievements at Annual Conference

The American Foundry Society recognized outstanding achievements in the environmental, health and safety field during its 31st EHS Conference, Oct. 8-10, 2019, in Louisville, Kentucky.

Thomas Rarick received the prestigious Childress-Loebler Award Lifetime Achievement Award from the AFS EHS Division. Rarick is a partner at ERM in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Stephanie Martins (Aurora Metals Division LLC, Montgomery, Illinois) and Kim Meyers (Amsted Rail, Groveport, Ohio) each received Service Citations in recognition of their work for the EHS Division.

Several companies also were honored at the conference.

Winning Safe Year Awards, which recognize foundries which have gone a full year with no lost-time injuries, were Accurate Castings (LaPorte, Indiana), Emerson (South Milwaukee, Wisconsin), J.R. Hoe & Sons (Middlesboro, Kentucky), Nemak USA, Inc. (Glasgow, Kentucky), Nemak USA, Inc. (Dickson, Tennessee), Novis Works LLC (Canton, Ohio), Oil City Iron Works, Inc. (Corsicana, Texas) and Osco Industries (New Boston, Ohio). This is Oil City Iron Works’ sixth consecutive year winning the Safe Year Award. J.R. Hoe & Sons won for a third year in a row, and Osco Industries is in its second consecutive year.

Green Foundry Awards were presented for achievements in sustainable industry, innovation and environmental engagement. Metal Technologies, Inc. (Auburn, Indiana), won a Green Foundry Award in the environmental engagement category. Kennedy Valve (Elmira, New York) won in the sustainability category, and Clow Valve (Oskaloosa, Iowa) won for innovation.

The EHS Division’s newest honors, Safety and Health Innovation and Insight Awards, were presented for the first time to two companies. Hiler Industries (La Porte, Indiana), won the award in the safety category. Winning in two categories – health and ergonomics – was Clow Valve (Oskaloosa, Iowa).