EHS Division Honors Industry Excellence with Awards

The American Foundry Society’s Environmental, Health and Safety Division recognized individuals and companies for their achievements during an awards presentation at the 34th EHS Conference, Oct. 4-6 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

The division confers several awards recognizing accomplishments in categories including sustainability, safety, and service.

Green Foundry Award

AFS Green Foundry Awards honor companies which have taken significant and novel approaches to improve sustainability, reduce energy and resource use, decrease or eliminate waste generation, reduce toxicity, identify beneficial re-use options for spent materials, and generally reduce their environmental footprint.

Benton Foundry and Waupaca Foundry each received 2022 Green Foundry Awards. Benton’s award honored the company’s sustainability and stakeholder engagement, while Waupaca was honored for its sustainability efforts.

Innovation and Insight Award 

Pier Foundry was the recipient of the 2022 Safety and Insight Award. Sponsored by the EHS Division’s Safety and Health Committee, these awards recognize projects and programs that improve safety, health, or ergonomics in foundry operations. Pier Foundry’s award was presented in recognition of the company’s significant achievements in safety initiatives.

Safe Year Award

EJ, JR Hoe, and Wisconsin Precision Casting Corporation each received 2022 AFS Safe Year Awards. These awards recognize AFS Corporate Member facilities which have achieved one year (365 consecutive calendar days) without a lost-time incident or fatality.

Division Service Awards

Three members of the EHS Division earned Division Service Awards: Pete Buczek (WGS Global Services LLC), Kristen Belcredi (Keramida Inc.), and Dan Plant (Metal Technologies Inc.). These awards recognize their significant contributions of time and expertise to the EHS Division.

Gary E. Mosher Outstanding New Member Award

Another individual honor, Gary E. Mosher Outstanding New Member Award, was presented to Ernesto Paulino (U.S. Foundry & Manufacturing Co.) in recognition for his significant contributions to the Safety & Health Committee as a new member of the EHS Division.

Additionally, the division recognized one of its own members, Jeet Radia, for having received the prestigious 2022 Keating Founders’ Freedom Award in September.