Metalcasting Congress 2024: Celebrating Success and New Leadership

The American Foundry Society is pleased to announce the success of Metalcasting Congress 2024, held at Milwaukee's Baird Center on April 23–25, 2024. This year's Congress not only witnessed groundbreaking discussions and innovations but also celebrated accomplished leaders and honored outstanding achievers within the metalcasting industry.

Impressive Turnout

Metalcasting Congress 2024 witnessed tremendous participation, with 2,720 attendees and 258 exhibitors representing the entire metalcasting supply chain. Attendees from 28 countries convened, fostering a rich exchange of ideas and experiences. Additionally, more than 100 industry specialists served as presenters and panelists.

Notable moments included an enlightening opening keynote from the 70th Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, and a thought-provoking Hoyt Memorial Lecture by Mike Lenahan (Badger Mining Corp.). Special events tailored for Women in Metalcasting and AFS Young Professionals provided invaluable networking opportunities, while subject-matter experts led over 50 technical and management sessions and classes.

New AFS Leadership Team

Additionally, AFS's newly elected leadership team was inducted for the 2024-2025 term at Metalcasting Congress. Angela Schmeisser (St. Marys Foundry) stepped into the role of President, supported by Vice President David Gilson (SinterCast) and 2nd Vice President John Lancaster (General Motors). Bradford Muller (Charlotte Pipe and Foundry Co.) is now Immediate Past President. Additionally, AFS welcomed Susan Bear (Grede Castings), Bob Braun (Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry), Kelley Kerns (HA International, LLC), and Paul Leonard (Investment Casting and Six Sigma Expert), to the 2024-2028 Directors Class. Their terms officially began at the conclusion of Metalcasting Congress. 

Celebrating Excellence

Outstanding achievers within the industry received recognition at Metalcasting Congress. Congratulations to the recipients of this year's prestigious awards:

  • Henry Lodge (Lodge Manufacturing Co.) received the 2024 Peter L. Simpson Gold Medal.
  • Jeet Radia (McWane Inc.) was honored with the 2024 Thomas W. Pangborn Gold Medal.
  • St. Marys Foundry (St. Marys, Ohio) claimed the coveted 2024 Casting of the Year Award.
  • The AFS Award of Scientific Merit was presented to Liam Miller (American Colloid Co.).
  • AFS Service Citations were awarded to Mike Buyarski (The Federal Metal Co.), Mark Osborne (Wabtec Corp.), and Brian Rachwitz (EJ).
  • Svetlana Dodik-Pelja (HA International) was recognized with the 2024 Women in Metalcasting Award for Excellence.
  • Carol Martinez (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee) took first place in the IJMC/FEF Student Research Competition.

AFS extends sincere congratulations to all award recipients, whose accomplishments underscore the excellence and innovation prevalent within the metalcasting industry.

Next year, Metalcasting Congress makes its return alongside CastExpo 2025 from April 12–15 in Atlanta, Georgia. Additionally, the 2025 World Foundry Technical Forum will co-locate with CastExpo 2025.

For more information about AFS and its initiatives, please visit