James P. Keating Founders’ Freedom Award

This award is named in honor of James P. Keating of Neenah Foundry Co. It is awarded for significant contributions to the foundry industry in the fields of government affairs, human resource management, safety and health or education. This award is presented at the annual Foundry Leadership Summit.

To nominate someone for this award, click here.

Award Recipients

2023: Patrick Ameen, Amsted Rail Company Inc.

2023: Joey Leonard, TalentCast HR

2022: Tom Teske, EJ

2022: Jeet Radia, McWane

2019: Craig Schmeisser, Mad River Strategies LLC 

2018: Bradford Muller, Charlotte Pipe and Foundry

2018: Eric Meyers, Oil City Iron Works

2016: Janis Herschkowitz, PRL Inc.

2015: Christopher Misiak, Victaulic

2014: Thomas Slavin, Slavin OSH Group LLC

2014: Robert C. Scholz, TRC Environmental Corp..

2013: Geary Smith, G&W Electric

2012: Charles Fowler, Fairmount Minerals

2011: Chris Norch, Denison Industries

2010: Dan Oman, RMT Inc.

2009: Jack Wymer, Fairmount Minerals

2008: Dave Bumbar, Aurora Metals Division LLC

2007: James Young, Unimin Corp.

2006: Russ Murray, Ohio Cast Metals Association

2005: George Boyd Sr., Golden’s Foundry & Machine

2003: G. Thomas Surtees, Citation Corporation

2002: Joseph Robinson, Jr., Robison Foundry

2001: James Larson, Waupaca Foundry

2000: Joseph Garrity, Richmond Casting Co.

1999: Daniel M. Goodyear

1998: Stanley Bass, Fort Worth Aluminum Foundry

1997: J. Michael Williams, General Motors Corp.

1996: Donald Hizenga, Kurdziel Industries Inc.

1995: Earl Bradley, Jr. EBAA Iron, Inc.

1994: Donald Lawson, Wagner Castings Co.

1993: Gary Mitchell, Navistar International

1992: Carl Weigell, Motor Catings Co.

1991: Alvin Singleton, Posthumous

1990: Lawrence Krueger, Pelton Casteel Inc.

1989: Roger Hathaway, Neenah Foundry

Note: The James P. Keating Award and the Founder’s Freedom Award were combined in 1989 to form the Keating Founders’ Freedom Award. Earlier recipients of the separate awards were:

Founders’ Freedom Award

1989: Richard Bruggen, Rockwell International

James P. Keating Award

1988: Jerry Jungquist, Prospect Foundry

1987: Glenn Stahl, Stahl Specialty Co.

1985: JP Keating, Neenah Foundry

1984: Doug Warner, Berlin Foundry

1983: Ray Heiden, Galva Foundry Co.

1982: Harry Burns, Stockham Valves & Fittings

1981: E. Frank Tibbetts, Wollaston Alloys Inc.

1980: George Peters, Aurora Industries

1979: J.S. Robbins, Vulcan Mold & Iron

1978: C.J. Niles, Wehr Steel Company

1976: Charles Carolin, Carolin Corp.

1975: Walt Larson, Larson Consolidated

(Company affiliations shown at time of presentation)