Events and News

Metalcasting Industry Award Winners Announced

May 7, 2012

AFS presented several prestigious industry awards at the 116th Metalcasting Congress. The awards included the William H. McFadden Gold Medal Award, Michael J. Trzecinski CMI Award, AFS Award of Scientific Merit, AFS Service Citation Awards, AFS/Metal Casting Design & Purchasing Casting of the Year Award and AFS Millionaire’s Safety Awards.

The William H. McFadden Gold Medal Award was presented to Paul Cervellero, owner of Induction Melting & Holding Systems LLC, Feasterville, Pa., for “leadership in developing and sharing the science and technology of induction melting through AFS and the Cast Metals Institute and for leadership and vision in sustaining a more dynamic metalcasting industry.” The Gold Medal was presented to Cervellero at the AFS Annual Banquet on April 18.

The Michael J. Trzecinski CMI Award, AFS Awards of Scientific Merit, AFS Service Citation Awards, AFS/Metal Casting Design & Purchasing Casting of the Year Award and Millionaires Safety Award were presented at the President’s Luncheon and Annual Business Meeting on April 20. The Michael J. Trzecinski CMI Award was presented to Wayne Rasmussen, consultant, for his “substantial personal contributions (including service) to the development and continuing successful operation of the Institute and its programs.”

The AFS Awards of Scientific Merit are presented for outstanding technical papers, meritorious technical contributions or services, and/or the development of a new process, production method or engineering advancement having "future possibilities." This year's recipients were:

  • Iulian Riposan, professor at Politehnica University of Bucharest, Bucharest, Romania, “for advancing the knowledge of the cast iron industry through extensive research and for generously sharing his knowledge and expertise with the industry.”
  • Ralph Showman, senior staff metallurgist at ASK Chemicals, Dublin, Ohio, “for extensive research and excellence in technology transfer in the areas of metallurgy, core and mold making.”
  • David Weiss, vice president sales and engineering at Eck Industries Inc., Manitowoc, Wis., “for technical innovations in light metal casting, application of best practices in premium castings, and leadership in the AFS Division Council, Technology Development Council and Research Board.”

The AFS Service Citation Awards are presented annually to individuals who show outstanding general service to AFS, its chapters and the metalcasting industry. This year's recipients were:

  • Gregory Miskinis, director of research and process development for ThyssenKrupp Waupaca, Waupaca, Wis., “for serving the metalcasting industry through participation in AFS research activities and the education of casting designers and end users.”
  • Raymond Monroe, executive vice president for the Steel Founders’ Society of America, Crystal Lake, Ill., “for dedicated service to the metalcasting industry and service to the Cast Metals Coalition, the Alliance for Materials Manufacturing Excellence, and the American Metalcasting Consortium.”
  • Sandy Salisbury Linton, CFO/co-owner of Tonkawa Foundry Inc., Tonkawa, Okla., “for dedication, service and leadership as an advocate and champion for the American Foundry Society, the Cast Metals Institute, the Plains States chapter and the metalcasting industry.”

In the 2012 AFS/Metal Casting Design & Purchasing Casting Competition, Monarch Industries, Winnipeg, Canada, won Casting of the Year for its torque converter housing. The component is used in a 2,300-hp transmission for fracture oil drilling equipment produced by Caterpillar Inc., Peoria, Ill. Converted from a 36-piece weldment, the casting cut Caterpillar’s total lead time in half and reduced labor and scrap rates. Part numbers, revision numbers, customer logos and date codes were cast-in. The casting incorporated locations onto which removable lifting lugs could be threaded for better handling and installation.

The AFS Millionaire’s Safety Awards were presented to six metalcasting facilities for achieving one million man-hours or more worked without incurring a lost-time injury or illness during the 2011 calendar year. This year’s winners were John Deere Foundry, Waterloo, Iowa; Nemak Tennessee, Dickson, Tenn.; Clow Water Systems (division of McWane), Coshocton, Ohio; Fairmount Minerals Ltd., Benton Harbor, Mich.; and Metaltek International-Wisconsin Centrifugal Division, Waukesha, Wis.