Events and News

Ratepayer Protection Act Passed

June 30, 2015

On June 24, the U.S. House of Representatives approved H.R. 2042, the Ratepayer Protection Act, by a bipartisan vote of 247-180. The Ratepayer Protection Act was introduced by Energy and Power Subcommittee Chairman Ed Whitfield (R-Ky.), Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-Ga.), Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-Va.), and Rep. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.).

Based on a rarely invoked provision of the Clean Air Act, section 111(d), the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is seeking to set mandatory carbon dioxide “goals” for each state’s electricity system. It seeks to fundamentally change how electricity is generated, distributed, and consumed in the U.S. States would be required to submit plans to EPA in 2016 and begin meeting interim goals in 2020, with a final goal of 2030. 

The Ratepayer Protection Act would protect families and businesses from significant electricity rate increases or reduced electric reliability that may result from EPA’s pending regulations for existing power plants, commonly referred to as the “Clean Power Plan.” The legislation would allow for the completion of judicial review of any final rule before requiring states to comply, and states could not be forced to implement a state or federal plan if its governor finds a significant adverse effect on rates or reliability. 

AFS was one of 200 organizations that supported the legislation.