Events and News

55 Members of Congress Sign Letter Concerning Silica Rulemaking

February 18, 2014

Representative Joe Barton (R-Texas) has circulated a letter concerning OSHA’s crystalline silica rulemaking among his House colleagues. The letter, addressed to Secretary of Labor Tony Perez, requested the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) provide either a revocation or a full 90-day extension for the comment period and hearing date for the agency’s proposed crystalline silica rulemaking. Fifty-five lawmakers signed the letter. 

AFS member metalcasting facilities in Texas were instrumental in securing Barton as the sponsor of the letter. The AFS Washington office and Metalcasting State Group leaders helped secure the majority of House members on the letter. Click here to read the letter. 

Below is the complete list of the members of Congress who were signatories to the letter: 

Aderholt (AL)

Barton (TX)

Barletta (PA)

Bentivolio (MI)

Black (TN)

Blackburn (TN)

Brady (TX)

Brooks (IN)

Bucshon (IN)

Burgess (TX)

Cassidy (LA)

Chabot (OH)

Conaway (TX)

Crawford (AR)

Duffy (WI)

Fleischmann (TN)

Flores (TX)

Gerlach (PA)

Gibbs (OH)

Granger (TX)

Griffin (AR)

Hall (TX)

Hudson (NC)

Huizenga (MI)

Hensarling (TX)

Jenkins (KS)

Johnson (OH)

Kelly (PA)

Kinzinger (IL)

Latta (OH)

Luetkemeyer (MO)

Marchant (TX)

Marino (PA)

Neugebauer (TX)

Perry (PA)

Petri (WI)

Pittenger (NC)

Pitts (PA)

Poe (TX)

Pompeo (KS)

Reichert (WA)

Ribble (WI)

Rokita (IN)

Rothfus (PA)

Schock (IL)

Sensenbrenner (WI)

Smith (NE)

Stivers (OH)

Stutzman (IN)

Tiberi (OH)

Tipton (CO) 

Walorski (IN)

Wenstrup (OH)

Westmoreland (GA)

Young (IN)