Events and News

Metalcasters Honored in STEP Awards for Women in Manufacturing

January 22, 2013

The Manufacturing Institute, in a partnership with Deloitte, the University of Phoenix and the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, recently announced winners of the 2013 STEP Awards. The STEP Ahead initiative recognizes women in science, technology, engineering and production and promotes the role of women in the manufacturing industry.

The 2013 STEP Awards honored more than 200 women in manufacturing, including two AFS members:

  • Laura Drahn, plant manager for U.S. Silica Co., West Columbia, S.C., is a dual plant manager and has provided leadership that helped both plants perform above profit expectations and maintain a perfect safety record. Drahn also successfully turned around the business at one plant in 2008, when she utilized cost reduction methods and efficiency gains to dramatically increase profits in just two years.
  • Jan Herschkowitz, president and CEO of PRL Inc., Cornwall, Pa., focuses on ongoing education and innovation to build the success of PRL’s workforce. Herschkowitz was nominated by President George W. Bush to serve on the Board of Directors for the National Consumer Cooperative Bank and was appointed to serve on Pennsylvania’s Manufacturing Advisory Council. She is a major political advocate for small business issues.